a semblance of sanity

unbound,
a fanged sun appears in the sky,
spewing light that digs into the skin,
forming crevices of an uninhibited tomorrow.

it’s an initiation, a baptism from the past
as little kid fingers hold you apart
from the lethal essence of your own myth.

I bite my own tail, unbound, I see faith
in spontaneity raveling from its burrow,
I hear the rustle of the grass beneath my feet.

hunched back, I stand for the venomous kiss,
light draws caricatures on my face,
waiting, I stand, hunched back

for all that comes when the blood freezes over,
and the lips turn blue,

I beget death so that I can live.
I beget chaos so that life fulfills.

unbound,
the fanged sun pierces the scales
of my existence.

.
Linking it up with With Real Toads.
The legends of America describe the snake totem with following terms: “Impulsive, primal energy, shrewdness, rebirth, transformation, initiation, and wisdom”.

I made a post today particularly because of this :

blog

15 thoughts on “a semblance of sanity

  1. Really excellent personification here!! Really enjoy the descriptions in the open/close with the sun…congratulations on your 5 year benchmark for blogging…very cool!! Thank you for sharing your snake totem poem with us!

    Like

  2. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Serpent is one thing – but ouroboros? A mighty powerful totem you’ve got there! And some strong writing too.

    Like

  3. So much to admire in this poem – the fanged kiss, the repeated beginning and ending lines…….especially powerful: “I beget death so that I can live.
    I beget chaos so that life fulfills.” Wow.

    Like

  4. its kinda funny, in that ouroboros, is probably appropriate for the US right now…biting our own tail into infinity…i like the near repetition of the opening and close as well..

    Like

  5. I love the way you start and end your poem with ‘fanged sun’, making it a circular shape of a coiled snake. Congratulations on 5 years on WordPress – and snap – I have my 1 year WordPress anniversary today!

    Like

  6. Enticing language and imagery, I loved so much in the poem, but something I would point out is the repetition of motives, I really like how you executed it. I really loved this part also:”I beget death so that I can live.
    I beget chaos so that life fulfills.”
    Happy Blogoversary, even though I am fashionably late! Here’s to many more years!

    Like

  7. My apologizes for not commenting previously when I had originally read your poem. I thought that I had indeed left a few words…

    So now, I will take a few minutes and say, ‘Brava!’ Nothing more really is needed to say. Your words have reflected a sliver of your poetic soul, if not a morsel nugget of your poetic mind.

    Now I shall take a few more minutes and ask if you could, if you would take part in a very large project here among so many at, via WordPress and its numerous members…

    I promise you that this is not some spam or some attempt at false advertising. We are all involved and very honestly asking for your participation.

    We have 140 contributions to date, and I am trying again to rope in as many contributors to the Poets for Peace challenge (in place until this the end of August). The many voices in response to this have been fantastic, and I’d love you to add yours (again, if applicable) if you can. Feel free to use an existing piece of writing or a new one asking for peace and/or about the troubled times in which we live.

    If you are interested, please leave your poem in the comments section of Neha’s blog and it will be added.

    https://forgottenmeadows.wordpress.com/2016/07/16/calling-all-poetscreative-minds-to-a-grand-collaboration-poets-for-peace/comment-page-5/#comment-19287

    Thank you –
    Your voice matters.

    ‘We are so grateful to be part of this community where poets and creative minds from around the world stand together uniting for PEACE!

    This collaboration is open till August 31st and we hope to see more of
    you join in!’
    – Neha

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

