acquiesce

 

nature1

when the light spilled out in the open,
I took a pause, my stride halted in that pulse
as they moved ahead,

his curls were visible in the crowd and her
pacified smile,
it was when the dark and light conquered
each other that I knew of those punctured
holes in my chest, I acknowledged my skin
in its composite radiance…

the distance covered itself, and holding hands
became arbitrary to my nature of resistance,

and letting my fingers entangled in her locks,

I saw to it that I would need, I would be human,
I would want to be found.

when the light spilled out in the open,
my heart was wrenched out of my open self,
and my bloodied hands traced the curves
of my laughter as its thunder boomed
against the sky, and the savage sun
spilled more light,
and the wailing winds fell into my eyes.

it was Elpis that rose from that gaping
hole, a new birth of dying, an old ending
to the origin of life,

open –

they saw the light.

.

For Poets United Midweek Motif.

14 thoughts on “acquiesce

  1. Yes, in the ‘open’ we can see the light indeed. And I think all of us desire to be ‘found’ and perhaps in the light this is possible.

    Like

  2. What power! “my bloodied hands traced the curves
    of my laughter as its thunder boomed
    against the sky, and the savage sun
    spilled more light,
    and the wailing winds fell into my eyes.”
    I never thought of Pandora’s chest being her own body before, of her heart as the location of hope–but that’s where your poem took me: to that and the Light that shines through. Wow! –” a new birth of dying”–and to that we acquiesce.

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

