We all were dead… Now we begin to breathe

I am climbing a wall, bricks jutting out

to be my ladder to reach atop and sit there

wait for the hollering to begin,

I’ve missed it for so long,

.

they look at me and say that some one shrunk me

while I was veiled by ignorance, both theirs and mine,

and yet it is today when I show a fragment of insanity

and present it to them so that they can cut it and have a piece

.

of my present, my past is a poster pasted deep within

my skin, them being not a part, but now I want them

to give me a finger and make me a defense of sun rays,

I’ve already had too much of night, but it will linger

and I am okay with that… only if there is a voice now

to call me back when I get entranced and webbed in

locks of the seductress- milady of midnight

.

For Poetry Jam, where we remember our friends and write our verse keeping them in mind. You may find this piece a little dark but there is a light side to it as well. Relationships such as friendship are dynamic in their propensity, their value and their exhibition.

Image source: Dark To Light Painting by Melissa LeRay

18 thoughts on “We all were dead… Now we begin to breathe

  1. you are right in that our relationships are dynamic…a mix of light and dark….
    and being that voice to call us back as well…to the light when we need it.
    or to offer guidance….

    Like

  2. It does seem that sometimes night down linger a bit too long…but thankfully the light always finds its way to us again somehow, even though midnight does have a certain allure to it.

    Like

  3. I liked how your poem ended on a more serene and promising note, HA! I guess we all have friends who have disappointed us or whom we have disappointed.

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

