Two-faced lamp post… I smolder with night

Veranda : © g.s.koch

the lamp post

would burst its faces

this night, when

I’d wake up

from my sleep of haunted lights,

breaking this mirror

.

of night lights,

to be the gleam of

the mad moon,

the rife ruins,

of the past breathing in me

and sighing bright lights,

.

smoldering

this night into flames

of a fuel,

of an ache,

that which burns it all with me

into lights of night,

.

nothing left

but the acrid smell

of sly smoke,

of dying blocks,

spewing fumes of burned up night,

black with the lamp lights

.

For Bastet’s Shadorma Photo Prompt. And yes, I traveled the road of rhymes… I am a rule breaker. 😉 Hope that is alright.

8 thoughts on “Two-faced lamp post… I smolder with night

  1. I agree with the ladies who have commented before me. There is a haunting spirit about this poem, but in spite of (or perhaps because of?) the lack of a positive form there is a continuity that is very revealing.Thought was never broken, and I love that in poetry. In fact it seemed to me that the irregularity gave increased importance to the beginning of each new section, much as an exclamation point or a question mark might do.

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

