A Story of Despondency

frolicking about in a sort of daze,

he constantly says, “It is just a phase”,

day and night, he would wander

perpetrate one or another blunder,

shattering the vinyl valuable vase,

his heart’s shards, of crystal glass,

the moon rises up and descends down,

day light turns from yellow to brown,

each sparkling night, he would wake,

counting all his bones, he did break

through the wasteful words, he write,

for the future, he has lost his sight,

he has his highs and so many lows,

from his expression, nothing shows

of the punctures, within his chest,

which bleed framing a congealing crest,

he could at times, be seen with a smile,

his eyes wild, with the sheen of a senile,

or it is often when his face does give away

nothing, impassive lips, blue and grey,

he is unfamiliar, quite an anonymity,

he has no home, no abode, no city,

he carries on, kept on, keeping on,

forgotten time going and thus gone,

it is a story of despondency, true or untrue,

it is just a matter of one’s own view,

he is someone, or he was, or he will be,

I don’t know, cos’ that is his secret key

.

Image source

Tagging it as the poem for 7 November for NaBloPoMo. Please do share your feedback and leave a link to one of your posts, which makes it easier for me to visit you.

16 thoughts on “A Story of Despondency

  1. Wow–so glad I stopped by from Nano Poblano!!! Fabulous offering today. I loved it. My post today is a bit lighthearted compared to that. :-http://bethannchiles.com/2013/11/07/stop-touching-me/

    Like

  2. Just came here from reading Brenden’s “Pickett’s Charge” and I feel amazed that this could have been the same man! Though yours lives with only his secret key and his counting of the bones to keep him warm. Good he breaks through the wasteful words, but I’d like to caution him to do his counting out loud as some of us are listening and even straining for his expressions.

    Like

  3. A wonderful sense of rhyme 🙂 I enjoyed the flow of it. I especially loved these lines:

    hrough the wasteful words, he write,
    for the future, he has lost his sight,
    he has his highs and so many lows,
    from his expression, nothing shows

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  4. Liked your rhyme, H.A. I could see sometimes you had to strain a little, to keep the tense, express the wanted mood, and stay with the theme of being despondent and yet keep the rhyme. Good job.

    Is this an instant in time, i.e. a snapshot? Or is there a time elapsed from start to finish of the poem? I was surprised to see the poet’s commentary at the end.

    Like

    • Yes, I was quite confused about the tenses., because I am not talking about a person in a generic sense because he can be anyone.
      “he is someone, or he was, or he will be”- This line is significant. Therefore, in order to keep the action alive, I used present tense but sometimes, I deviated in order to conform to the actual theme.
      It can be considered a snapshot but not merely so. I was surprised to put forth a comment in the end but when I wrote it, I found it quite alright because it adds into the mysterious persona of that being(s).
      I appreciate your questions; they had me think about such aspects as well.

      Like

  5. HA, glad you posted at Toads.

    This person I see as a homeless vet. I’m not sure if that was your intention, but the aimlessness of his situation, the was/will be… sounds like the homeless vets I know downtown in Madison… Amy

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

