Dream: A Short Story

(For Trifecta)

“I want to go to the city, where there are so many avenues available. I will get to be in the middle of things and I could prove my talent,” she said, her eyes lost in a world far away from their small town.

“What do you aim to do there?” As a supportive father, he wanted to listen to her before putting forth his own opinion about it.

“Oh… well, I will do what all others do.”

“And what is it they do?”

“I will… I will get an agent, who could help me visit the parties and the functions where I could meet up with the directors and other film personalities. It is all about making yourself available at the right spot at the right time. It is probable that I will get the opportunity that I so want.” She smiled, which was an evidence of that childish wonder and a dream, which was a result of townsfolk praising her for her beauty and acting skills.

Her father did not reply for a while and a silence pervaded in the room.

“Well, what do you think, dad?”

“Is it that simple? You know, it seems to me that you are trying to chase a rainbow.”

Her smile faded. “A rainbow…? Dad, I want it. I want the fame, success. I want the life of a film star.”

“Aren’t you content with all what you have? You might lose it all, blinded by the glittering city.”

“I love my life here, dad but I want to achieve my dream and I need your support.” That was all she said. She had already bought a ticket for the city bound train, which was to leave early in the morning.

Next day, she was surprised to find her father with his suitcase, waiting at the station.

“I believe in you. I am with you,” he stated. She embraced the best man of her life, as the train whistled its arrival with the rising sun.

17 thoughts on “Dream: A Short Story

  1. He worries that she will be blinded by the “glittering city” and yet, he blindly supports her because he loves her. Nice story with an warm ending, proving that trying to follow your dreams is happiness in itself. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

