Beat of drums, he hums

in accord with the beat of drums,

he shakes his head with a vigor,

thumping his feet along he hums,

.

his mind oblivious and numb

to the emotions that trigger,

in accord with the beat of drums,

.

there is silence, everything’s mum,

listening to quiet song, he sniggers,

thumping his feet along he hums,

.

skull swaying as if high with rum,

sort of madness in him lingers,

in accord with the beat of drums,

.

he sheds tears in a state of glum,

body, skin begins to shimmer,

thumps his feet, continues to hum,

.

possessed, in air he starts to strum,

ear(plugs) deaf, he is a wigger,

sings in accord with beat of drums,

thumping his feet along he hums.

.

* A Villanelle with 8 syllables in every verse, unlike the one I posted yesterday with 10 syllables. Both are acceptable. I’m submitting the link for dVerse OLN.

24 thoughts on “Beat of drums, he hums

  1. we all have to find our own rhythm you know…tapping into the music inside of us…it is a bit of madness but once you do it just starts to flow…when i get glum i go back to the drum….

    Like

  2. Quite the drum beat here. This reminded me of walking around on a college campus not too long ago, with everyone wearing headphones, walking along to their own songs in their head. Music has a way of making us more aware of ourselves. You captured this nicely.

    Like

  3. Great form, this Villanelle! It has a certain flow of repetitions that makes the poem seem to linger on. The beat of drums has that peculiar pull! Nicely HA!

    Hank

    Like

  4. I love villanelles -in fact I think they’re my favorite form. They were certainly my first and they are nearly always music to my ears – none more so than this where I wanted to hear the beat too, and hum along. Well done.

    Like

  5. The words were ‘catchy’ as was the rhythm and so reminded me of when we were up North Queensland. A bongo drummer young, shirtless guy sitting on a bended coconut tree with his pupil. He was pounding out such a rhythm, that I stopped in awe. Your words reminded me – so THANK YOU!

    Like

  6. I loved reading the two villanelle and feeling the change in tempo from one to the other, with this one feeling much faster to match the theme of the poem. Great to see what can be done with the villanelle!

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

