Day 06: A Book That Broke Your Heart

Okay, I am continuing with the 30 Day Book Challenge. So, now is the time to discuss a book that broke my heart. That is a very powerful phrase. I don’t know if some book shattered my soul or broke my heart, as being mentioned. Yes, I have felt sad and there have been some books where i shed tears during some instances that were painful to read.

A Week in Winter is one such novel which stirred quite some emotions in me. It is written by Marcia Willett. I have mentioned it before but haven’t discussed it so far. I guess I am going to do that right now.

A Week in Winter is a family drama in simple words but it is much more than just that. It is an exploration of human emotions and how people come to see themselves and their relationships at various stages of their life. It tells of how complicated certain relationships can be and how a house can come to symbolize feelings of love and belonging. Maudie Todhunter is the protagonist who is the owner of a farmhouse in Devon countryside and she is going to sell it. And that comes out to be a central part of the entire story, which involves her step-daughter and her family along with a woman who comes to explore the country house by the name of Moorgate.

There are certain other stories involved enlisting many other characters but in the end everything comes together. This book gives you such a reading experience that you would laugh, smile, cry a bit, feel elated, a little frustrated. It is a complete package of human feelings and emotions.

Let me tell you, when did I cry in this book? It was when a character whom I come to adore died. It was already told before hand that she was going to die but finally when that chapter came, I felt really sad. Because she was someone I wanted to be like.

Author Marcia Willett

That is all for today.

Here is where you tell me something...

