Book Review: Life of Pi

Life of PiLife of Pi by Yann Martel
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Life of Pi is a fantastical tale of courage and bravery and survival instinct, in the time of such hazard when a young man is left all alone with a Royal Bengal Tiger in a lifeboat; his family being perished in the ship wreck, they were travelling on. He was, by mere luck, saved but how long would luck help him survive? This story is well acclaimed and has been adapted into a popular movie.

Positive Points:-

1.The narration is strong. The main protagonist is an intelligent person, who comes out to be quite the power-house of the novel.

2.The biological references make it quite an interesting read.

3.The first-part is an enjoyable read. Learning about the protagonist and his family and his life in Pondicherry is something which is quite appealing to read.

4.The sea ordeal is quite frightening to read. And the story of killing for hunger makes you believe that we humans are also indeed animals. That came out to be quite intriguing part to read and understand.

Negative Points:-

1.The writing style is good but it is sometimes flawed because of over-exaggeration.

2.The emotional sentiments do not provide the story with an appropriate kick. Otherwise, a tragedy like this must have been able to make a reader burst into tears. But extra emphasis was made on the practical aspect, hence the novel failed to provide an emotional enriching experience.

3.It looked like a tale. A fictional story with nothing to back it up. The alternative story told in the third part of the book, seems to be more truthful than the actual one. I saw it as a flaw. I understand that the author provided it for a specific reason to point out what we are going to believe and what we could not believe because we believe in what we see and what we already know. And a fantastical tale always raises questions. But the author was not successful in providing the desired effect.

Overall, the book is readable, but it could not match up with the hype it had created, in my eyes. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to read adventurous fictional tales, while I would reprimand those who do not like gore or bloody chapters in the book, from reading it and also those, who want a book they could read in two-three days. This is a book you have to give some time to, otherwise, you are not doing justice to your already, a little deprived reading experience, you get from this book.

View all my reviews

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Life of Pi

  1. I saw the movie and enjoyed it, yet still haven’t read the book…the movie was very emotional for me, especially at the end..it almost left it up to the person watching it..was it a tale of fiction, or did it really happen? Now I must read the book.

    Like

  2. I don’t enjoy the book at all. It starts well, but then it becomes tedious because it takes too long until the second part (I don’t like the first part). It would be better, in my opinion, if the author began with their ship sinking and, since the hero spent so much time thinking, provided the backstory bit by bit. That way he could eliminate all the boring parts.

    Like

    • It could have been interesting but if truth be said, I enjoyed the first part. I like reading family drama; that my well be the reason behind that.
      Thanks for the comment. 🙂

      Like

  3. I tried to read this book and just couldn’t get into it. I was told that it would come together, but there are too many books to read out there that I generally don’t waste my time with books that I can’t get into. And because of that I didn’t go see the movie either. Books are always better than movies and I figured it would be a waste of two hours of my time.

    Like

    • I am a little impatient in that regard as well. That is why it took me quite a while reading it. But finally I did and it couldn’t match up with my expectations because you know, it is so popular.

      The opposite happened when I had read The Help and thus, I’ve read it three times thus far. Because as many people believe, it isn’t a chick-lit but something worthy to read.

      Oh, sorry I got distracted. Thanks for sharing words. 🙂

      Like

  4. I read it years ago and hardly remember it at all, just the fact that it got rather tedious after the beginning. At the beginning we get some interesting insights into the character but then after that it gets rather boring. Do you know if the movie is any good?

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

