Vocabulary(Word 1): Lyceum

I have signed up for Dictionary.com’s Word of the Day and hence, I find a new word to learn if it is new for me and revise it again if I had heard of it before and understand it. It is an interesting exercise according to me.

The words are never ending: I can not think of a person who knows and understands them all. We as writers must strive to improve our vocabulary. Because these words come handy when we are writing. Sometimes we are not able to think of a word which could suit an emotion in our poem, but there is a word out there waiting to be explored.

Not only writers, but everyone must make efforts to increase their vocabulary on a regular basis. I was once determined to do it but it ended very soon. Hence, I am back to it.

So, what am I going to do? I will discuss the most interesting words that I learn (or revise) so that we could enrich our vocabulary together.

How do you find it? I guess the idea is good. So, let us start.

The word that I am discussing now is:-

1. Lyceum \lahy-SEE-uhm\

Part of Speech: Noun

Meanings:

a. an institution for popular education providing discussions, lectures, concerts, etc.
b. a building for such activities.
c. (initial capital letter) the gymnasium where Aristotle taught, in ancient Athens.
d. a lycée.

I looked up for lycée on google and it means a secondary school, generally grades 9 to 12.

Sentences:

a. No wonder I was desirous of knowing, long before the opportunity was afforded me, how far these valuable purposes were accomplished by the frequenters of Mrs. Carter’s lyceum.

— Charles Brockden Brown, Alcuin, 1798

b. I don’t recall the surname. We’d just been to the Lyceum to see Sarah Bernhardt onstage.

— Johanna Moran, The Wives of Henry Oades, 2010

Now my tries at framing a sentence,

After having attended an educational discussion at the lyceum, he did not gain anything miraculous that would change his entire life , as was mentioned in the program pamphlet.

Now its your turn. Do frame your sentences and share them down in the comments section.

7 thoughts on “Vocabulary(Word 1): Lyceum

  1. Hi howanxious!
    I think it is a great idea. 🙂
    I like words too but never really do anything with them. Sometimes I will start a little vocabulary enrichment thing but never carry through and it fizzles. So I will enjoy reading how you develop this. As you wrote…it is for your own improvement and learning experience. I guess you are going to do the vocabulary words just every few posts or so. You already seem to have it all organized.

    I would like to do some sort of a project on vocabulary or new words too. So many of my posts are plain nonsense and I am running out of nonsense and have been at a loss on what to post about. I think we get so many good ideas from other bloggers and then try to turn them into something that fits our own style.
    I am not sure what I will do…..probably another fizzle. 😦

    Like

Here is where you tell me something...

