Sometimes I forget my name

sometimes I forget my name

in the thrust of the wind

and thirst of the mind,

I am hanging along the lines

of identities, in crisis of

life, in need of a clarity

.

sometimes I forget my name

to find me on streets, walking

as if I am aware where they go

they do not end by my

illusion of identity, in haze of

the light, in worlds unreal

.

sometimes I forget my name

when I explore on the map-

a dimension where I could

find the portal to bring me

back, I am a solid mass in

weightless sky, in words untrue

.

sometimes I forget my name

because I have embraced so much

that is beyond me, I fly above

ground, while my tethers are

still rooted within the soil, in

need of me to come back to me

.

sometimes I forget my name

and I think that is alright

as long as I do not rule myself

out of me, as long as I am there

to see, to feel, to touch, in lands

of this reality, I may still find me

.

Image source

23 thoughts on “Sometimes I forget my name

  1. Very relatable, this part for me especially:”sometimes I forget my name

    when I explore on the map-

    a dimension where I could

    find the portal to bring me

    back, I am a solid mass in

    weightless sky, in words untrue”, although I never forget my name, or who I am, and I cannot decide if that is better or worse.

  2. i would say it is alright as well…
    be sure to keep there tether though so we dont lose you completely…smiles.
    i tend to find myself among the people as i walk as well

  3. sometimes I forget my name

    because I have embraced so much

    that is beyond me

    I guess it can be true when you have assimilated into a culture so very much, I mean this is my way of interpreting these lines. You tend to forget your own actuality and embrace your greatest foreign passions..

  4. Great analogy between the name and our deepest and most authentic identity. Those who are seekers can sadly forget who they are, which does not mean we should not ask questions.

  5. This poem portrays, I think, the search for oneself that one makes at different times in one’s life. Our name (identity) sometimes takes on new meanings aswe find out who have become or are yet to be.

  6. I admire the refraining first line and last stanza is just perfect ~ As long as we finally accept – I do not rule myself out of me ~ Nothing wrong with discovering who you are as the journey makes us appreciative of ourselves more ~

  7. I see this image of embracing more than we are, that even forgetting the name….but it feels nice to come back, to find yourself again. :)

  8. Who am i really , i think that is your search within the others of your words today as you poem your existence in the scheme of universal mind, this is such an awesome write

    Thanks for the stopper at my blog

    Have a good week

    Much love…

  9. What is finding you, I wonder as you follow the leadings to places might not otherwise go? I would say your narrator is blessed to have this experience, even guarded by a benevolent force.

Here is where you tell me something...

